This item has been filed in | Honors, News
Print This Post Print This Post

National Medal of Science Winner Presents Sylvester’s Zubrod Memorial Lecture

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

    Robert A. Weinberg, winner of the U.S. National Medal of Science in 1997, gave the 17th annual Zubrod Memorial Lecture.

    UM News

    MIAMI, Fla. (May 26, 2016) — Robert A. Weinberg, Ph.D., winner of the U.S. National Medal of Science in 1997, was the featured speaker at the 17th annual Zubrod Memorial Lecture and Cancer Research Poster Session, hosted by Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center at the Lois Pope LIFE Center auditorium and the Schoninger Research Quadrangle on May 10.

    Weinberg, a founding member of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, director of the Ludwig Center for Molecular Oncology at MIT, and professor of biology, lectured on “Mechanism of Carcinoma Malignant Progression.” About 200 people attended.

    Nearly 90 clinical fellows/residents, postdoctoral fellows, medical students, and graduate students presented posters of cancer studies and projects and competed in the following categories: Basic Sciences, Clinical Research, Population-Based Research, and Translational Research. Faculty also were recognized for their efforts in research and instruction.

    For more information on the Zubrod Memorial Lecture and Sylvester Cancer Research Poster Session, please visit the Sylvester Office of Education and Training page or call  305-243-2287.

    Poster Winners and Categories:

    Basic Sciences:

    1. Julian Naipauer

    Lab/Research Mentor: Enrique Mesri, Ph.D.

    1. Tae Kyoung Kwak

    Lab/Research Mentor: Barry Hudson, Ph.D.


    Clinical Research:

    1. Phillip Miller

    Lab/Research Mentor: Dorraya El-Ahry, Ph.D.


    Population-Based Research:

    1. Felix Chinea

    Lab/Research Mentor: Alan Pollack, M.D., Ph.D.


    Translational Research:

    1. Diana Azzam

    Lab/Research Mentor: Claes Wahlestedt, M.D., Ph.D.


    Faculty Award Winners:                  

    Basic Scientist of the Year: Stephen Lee, Ph.D.

    Clinical Researcher of the Year: Ronan Swords, M.D., Ph.D., FRCPI, FRCPath

    Community-Based Researcher of the Year: Judith Hurley, M.D.

    Mentor of the Year – Junior Faculty: Dipen J. Parekh, M.D.

    Mentor of the Year – Trainees: James E. Hoffman, M.D.

    Teacher of the Year: Kerry L. Burnstein, Ph.D.

    Comments are closed.