This item has been filed in | Freeze Frame, Honors, News
Print This Post Print This Post

Dr. Felicia Marie Knaul Honored with Fairchild Garden’s Philanthropy Award

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

    UM News


    From left are Susan Abraham, Barbara Hevia, Brittany Lopez Slater, Daisy Johansson, Marisa Toccin Lucas, Felicia Marie Knaul, Swanee DiMare, Ana Milton, Lydia Touzet, and Frances Sevilla Sacasa.

    CORAL GABLES, Fla. (January 11, 2017)Dr. Felicia Marie Knaul, director at the University of Miami Institute for Advanced Study of the Americas and professor at the Miller School of Medicine, received the Fairchild Philanthropy Award at the 6th Annual Splendor in the Garden hosted by Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden.

    Knaul was joined by seven of South Florida’s leading women in garnering this year’s award, given in recognition of their contributions to the community.

    “It is a great honor to receive this award and join such an outstanding group of philanthropists. Fairchild is a tremendous asset to our community and our world,” said Knaul. “Its efforts to protect and promote biodiversity and conservation are critical to reducing the effects of climate change in South Florida and beyond. President Frenk and I are very grateful to Fairchild for its wonderful collaboration with the University of Miami, especially in preserving the trees and beautiful orchards of Smathers Four Fillies Farm.”

    One of the premier conservation and education-based gardens in the world, Fairchild is dedicated to exploring, explaining, and conserving the world of tropical plants. In addition to honoring members of the community, its annual awards ceremony features tours of its gardens and a fashion show organized by Neiman Marcus Coral Gables.

    Among the event’s honorary co-chairs this year was Swanee DiMare. She and her husband, UM Trustee Paul DiMare, are long-time supporters of the University

    This year’s honorees also included Susan Abraham, A.B. ’80, Daysi Johansson MSED ’89, A.B. ’88, Brittany Lopez Slater, Marile Lopez, Ana Milton, BSEE ’87, J.D. ’93, Marisa Toccin Lucas, and Silvia Rios Fortun. Previous honorees include former UM President Donna E. Shalala.

    Former UM President Donna E. Shalala was among the 2015 honorees.

    Comments are closed.