- e-Veritas - http://everitas.univmiami.net -

Faculty Senate Taps Two More Honorees

Posted By Maya Bell On February 2, 2017 @ 11:51 am In Honors,Priority: Home Page Teaser | Comments Disabled

The Faculty Senate voted unanimously at its January meeting to honor two exceptional faculty members at its annual awards ceremony this  April, when it will bestow the Outstanding Teaching Award on transplant surgeon Gaetano Ciancio and the Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award on East Asian expert June Teufel Dreyer.


Gaetano Ciancio

Internationally considered a surgeon’s surgeon, Ciancio, professor of surgery and chief academic officer for the Miami Transplant Institute at the Miller School of Medicine, will be recognized for his record of excellence and  distinguished teaching.

Also known as an accomplished researcher in the field of organ transplant and urologic oncology, Ciancio is well-known for his commitment to teaching the latest surgical techniques to residents at the Miller School and for participating in the training of other doctors from Latin America and Europe.

June Teufel Dreyer, professor of political science in the College of Arts and Sciences, will receive the Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award in recognition of her outstanding scholarly achievement and dedication to her chosen field of research in China-Japan relations throughout history.


June Teufel Dreyer

A world renowned expert and extensive researcher on this subject, Dreyer is a prominent name in East Asian politics and international relations, a field where she has leant her expertise as a consultant for the U.S. government. Among her many  positions, she has served as a commissioner on the U.S.-China Economic and Security Review Commission from 2001 to 2006 and as Asia-Pacific program director for the Global Strategy Council in Washington, D.C., from 1994 to 1998.

In appreciation of their dedication and contributions to their chosen fields, Ciancio and Dreyer will receive their awards at the Faculty Senate Awards ceremony at 5 p.m. on Monday, April 3 at the Robert and Judi Prokop Newman Alumni Center. After receiving her award, Dreyer will present a short lecture on her research.

Last November, the Faculty Senate voted to award the James W. McLamore Outstanding Service Award to  Patricia A. Whitely, vice president for student affairs. She also will receive her award at the April ceremony.

All members of the University community are invited to attend.


Article printed from e-Veritas: http://everitas.univmiami.net

URL to article: http://everitas.univmiami.net/2017/02/02/faculty-senate-selects-two-more-honorees/

Copyright © 2010 e-Veritas. All rights reserved.