This item has been filed in | News
Print This Post Print This Post

SEEDS Announces ‘You Choose’ Leadership Awards for Cultural Transformation

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

    By Marisol Capellan
    Special to UM News

    CORAL GABLES, Fla. (November 8, 2017)—The SEEDS Program has awarded 17 monetary awards to support faculty development, promote diversity and inclusion, and foster a culture of belonging and career satisfaction throughout the University of Miami.

    The awards of up to $2,500, which have no pre-designated use, can be used to fund a variety of activities, including but not limited to professional skills workshops, mentoring programs, seminars, leadership training, grant-writing workshops, and visits by distinguished speakers.

    This year’s awards were co-sponsored by the following deans, centers, and individuals, and went to the following recipients.

    By College of Arts and Sciences Dean Leonidas Bachas to:

    • Chantel Acevedo, associate professor, Department of English, with Osamudia James, professor, School of Law
    • Brendan Balcerack-Jackson, assistant professor, Department of Philosophy
    • Julia Dallman, associate professor, Department of Biology
    • Sunxiang Huang, assistant professor, Department of Physics
    • Yolanda Martinez-San Miguel, professor, Department of Modern Languages and Literatures with Donette Francis, associate professor, Department of English, and Kate Ramsey, associate professor, Department of History
    • Laura Rikard, assistant professor, Department of Theatre
    • Justin Stoler, assistant professor, Department of Geography and Regional Studies
    • Diana Ter-Ghazaryan, lecturer, Department of Geography, with John Twichell, lecturer, Department of International Studies
    • Lucina Uddin, associate professor, Department of Psychology

    By Miller School Dean Edward Abraham to:

    •  Lillian Abbo, associate professor, Division of Infectious Diseases, with Rose Maria Van Zuilen, associate professor, Division of Geriatrics and Palliative Medicine
    • Sheila A. Conway, associate professor, Division of Orthopedic Oncology

    By Roni Avissar, dean of the Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science, to:

    •  Amy Clement, professor, Department of Atmospheric Sciences, with Lisa Beal, professor, Department of Ocean Sciences
    • Cassandra Gaston, assistant professor, Department of Atmospheric Sciences

    By Isaac Prilleltensky, dean of the School of Education and Human Development, to:

    • Miriam Lispsky, lecturer, Department of Teaching and Learning

    By Jean-Pierre Bardet, dean of the College of Engineering, to:

    • Ramin Moghaddass, assistant professor, Department of Industrial Engineering

    By Nick Tsinoremas, director of the University of Miami Center for Computational Science, to:

    • Athina Hadjixenofontos, director of engagements, Center for Computational Science

    By SEEDS to:

    • Osamudia James, professor, School of Law

    For more information about SEEDS and to get involved please contact Marisol Capellan, SEEDS program manager, at

    Comments are closed.