Tag Archive | "faculty senate"

Tags: ,

Next Faculty Senate Meeting on the Miller School Campus February 22

The next Faculty Senate business meeting will take place on Wednesday, February 22 at 3:30 p.m. in the Miller School of Medicine’s Lois Pope Life Center, 7th Floor Auditorium. All UM faculty members are invited to attend the meeting

For more information about the Senate, its representatives, and meeting information, visit the website.



Posted in Events, NewsComments (0)


President Frenk to Host Next Faculty Senate Meeting on February 15

President Julio Frenk will host the Faculty Senate meeting on Wednesday, February 15 at 3:30 p.m. in the Faculty Club, located in the Whitten University Center on the Coral Gables campus. All UM faculty members are invited to attend the meeting and to take advantage of this special opportunity to ask questions and to voice their concerns directly to President Frenk.

Unlike a Faculty Senate business meeting, meetings that are hosted by the president have no set agenda. Each of these meetings provides UM faculty members with a chance to meet with the president in a smaller setting.

For more information about the Senate, its representatives, and meeting information, visit the website at miami.edu/fs.




Posted in Events, NewsComments (0)

Faculty Senate Taps Two More Honorees


Faculty Senate Taps Two More Honorees

The Faculty Senate voted unanimously at its January meeting to honor two exceptional faculty members at its annual awards ceremony this  April, when it will bestow the Outstanding Teaching Award on transplant surgeon Gaetano Ciancio and the Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award on East Asian expert June Teufel Dreyer.


Gaetano Ciancio

Internationally considered a surgeon’s surgeon, Ciancio, professor of surgery and chief academic officer for the Miami Transplant Institute at the Miller School of Medicine, will be recognized for his record of excellence and  distinguished teaching.

Also known as an accomplished researcher in the field of organ transplant and urologic oncology, Ciancio is well-known for his commitment to teaching the latest surgical techniques to residents at the Miller School and for participating in the training of other doctors from Latin America and Europe.

June Teufel Dreyer, professor of political science in the College of Arts and Sciences, will receive the Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award in recognition of her outstanding scholarly achievement and dedication to her chosen field of research in China-Japan relations throughout history.


June Teufel Dreyer

A world renowned expert and extensive researcher on this subject, Dreyer is a prominent name in East Asian politics and international relations, a field where she has leant her expertise as a consultant for the U.S. government. Among her many  positions, she has served as a commissioner on the U.S.-China Economic and Security Review Commission from 2001 to 2006 and as Asia-Pacific program director for the Global Strategy Council in Washington, D.C., from 1994 to 1998.

In appreciation of their dedication and contributions to their chosen fields, Ciancio and Dreyer will receive their awards at the Faculty Senate Awards ceremony at 5 p.m. on Monday, April 3 at the Robert and Judi Prokop Newman Alumni Center. After receiving her award, Dreyer will present a short lecture on her research.

Last November, the Faculty Senate voted to award the James W. McLamore Outstanding Service Award to  Patricia A. Whitely, vice president for student affairs. She also will receive her award at the April ceremony.

All members of the University community are invited to attend.


Posted in Honors, Priority: Home Page TeaserComments Off


Faculty Senate Meets on the Rosenstiel Campus January 25

The next Faculty Senate meeting will take place on Wednesday, January 25 at 3:30 p.m. on the Rosenstiel School Campus onVirginia Key, SLAB, Seminar Room. All UM faculty members are invited to attend.

For more information about the Senate, its representatives, and meeting information, visit the website at www.miami.edu/fs.

Posted in Events, NewsComments Off


Faculty Senate Cancels December Meeting

The Faculty Senate has canceled its meeting originally scheduled for Wednesday, December 14. The next Senate meeting will be on Wednesday, January 25. Please visit the Senate website for more details.



Posted in EventsComments Off

  • Features
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Subscribe
  • Subscribe to the Veritas RSS Feed
    Get updates to all of the latest Veritas posts by clicking the logo at the right.

    You can also subscribe to specific categories by browsing to a particular section on our site and clicking the RSS icon below each section's header.

UM Facebook

UM Twitter