This item has been filed in | Freeze Frame
Print This Post Print This Post

Physics department honors Alexandrakis

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (5 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

    During his 25 years as chair of the College of Arts and Sciences’ Department of Physics, George C. Alexandrakis raised the reputation of his department to new heights, recruiting world-class faculty members and spearheading the construction of the James L. Knight Physics Building. On January 21, the department honored Alexandrakis for his many years of service by dedicating the chair’s office in his honor. A professor of physics educated at Princeton, Alexandrakis is a two-time chair of UM’s Department of Physics, serving in that capacity from 1976 to 1980 and again from 1986 to 2007.

    At the dedication ceremony, College of Arts and Sciences Dean Leonidas G. Bachas heralded Alexandrakis for his commitment to the University, the department, and to his students. The dedication is the culmination of several generous gifts from faculty, former students, alumni, and friends—funds that will be used to establish the Alexandrakis Undergraduate Travel Fund.

    Pictured from left to right are Alexandrakis and his wife, Aphrodite; Ken Voss, professor and current chair of the Department of Physics; and Dean Leonidas G. Bachas.

    Comments are closed.