This item has been filed in | Appointments, News
Print This Post Print This Post

Faculty Senate Re-Elects Officers

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
    Faculty Senate Officers

    From left are Tomas Salerno, Linda L. Neider, and JoNel Newman

    The Faculty Senate re-elected all three of its officers, Chair Tomas Salerno, Vice-Chair Linda L. Neider, and Second Vice-Chair JoNel Newman, to another one-year term for the 2017-2018 academic year at its April 26 election meeting.

    Serving on the Senate since 2008, Salerno, chief emeritus of cardiothoracic surgery, vice chair of the Peer Review Committee of the University of Miami Hospital, and vice chair for the Department of Surgery, faculty mentoring and development, was re-elected chair for the fourth time.

    First elected to the Faculty Senate in the late 1980s and re-elected in 2012, Neider was re-elected to her fourth term as first-vice chair. She is a professor in the School of Business Administration’s Department of Management and Department of Health Sector Management and Policy, director of the M.S. program specializing in leadership, and curriculum coordinator for the Human Capital in the Global M.B.A. Program for the Americas.

    JoNel Newman, professor of clinical legal education in the School of Law and director of the Health Rights Clinic,was re-elected to her second term as second vice-chair. She has been a Senate member since 2011.

    All of the newly elected Senate officers will begin serving their one-year terms on June 1.







    Comments are closed.

    UM Facebook

    UM Twitter